Hard Truths/Bad Lies/Moments

Tonight, while talking to a girl about life and stuff, I found myself delving out some pretty “profound” advice. (“Profound” was her word, not mine. I am actually more humble than to just say that myself.) I didn’t know the exact details of her situation, nor did I need to pry enough to find them. I asked questions to understand the nature of her concerns and address the general thought process. Sometimes I find that the details get in the way anyway. But, I think that my ideas tonight could be helpful in many situations. Much of what I said are things that I’ve had to learn the hard way and I’d like for others to learn them easier and faster than I did. The main principles are as follows:

Face the Hard Truths

I have found that avoiding the hard truths, or procrastinating when dealing with things that I’d rather not deal with, doesn’t make the circumstances or situations easier. In fact, I’ve found that those circumstances get even harder to deal with the longer you put off dealing. Face the hard truths, do so right away, and get past it. The other side of it will be so much better and you will get to the other side sooner, the sooner you deal.

Dissolve the Bad Lies

A lie is always easier to believe than the truth. There is an enemy that wants us to believe that we are less than. That we are lower. That we are never going to reach our goals or be the best versions of ourselves. Those lies are easier to believe. Sometimes a bad lie disguises itself as a hard truth. Sometimes, a hard truth is avoided because we think it’s a lie. It’s often a fine line between the two. The difference? The hard truth is geared to lead you toward the best version of yourself – whether it’s your vision or not, it’s God’s vision. A bad lie is geared to keep you from ever reaching your full potential or purpose. The way to tell the difference? Tell God that you are willing to do whatever it is He made you to do, even if it’s not your goal or wish. And mean it. Give up your road for His. Stop writing your own story and let Him write it. You’ll get to where you should be, doing what you should be doing. Once you’ve pinpointed a bad lie, dissolve it quickly. The longer you let it take up residence in your brain, the more it will grow and fester.

Be Present In the Moment

If you are focused on what’s next, tomorrow, the next day, next week, next month, next year, 5 years from now, you will most certainly miss what’s happening now. You have to be present in the moment! Be present now with what’s happening right this second. If you aren’t present in the moment you’re in, you’ll miss it, and then what was it even for? I know it’s good to plan for the future, but don’t live there. I know it’s good to have goals, but don’t put ALL your hope in them. What conversation could have benefited you but you never had it because you were thinking about tomorrow? What ministry opportunity or blessing did you overlook or ignore because you want so badly what God has for you in the future? Yes, God has a plan to give us a hope and a future but not at the expense of today. Don’t miss today. Be present in the moment, it may be the most important one of your life.

Leave a Reply

