Scoff all you want…I know what I saw

Don’t dismiss my feelings as though they aren’t valid, nor my connections as though they aren’t worthy. I know you didn’t see what I saw. What I saw was a beautiful heart, eyes filled with compassion, and a rare soul utterly incapable of selfishness. Beneath the disagreeable exterior (which was usually a defense mechanism or the product of insecurities) lied a deeper reality that, if patient enough and truly caring, you could get a glimpse of. I am better for having seen that deeper reality. And you may scoff at what you think of as my foolishness but I miss that heart…and the shell it came in.

Leave a Reply

