Finding My Voice

I’ve been learning about some famous female authors. Their writing is characterized by the themes their stories convey. For example:
  • Harper Lee strongly advocated for JUSTICE and racial EQUALITY in the south in “To Kill A Mockingbird.”
  • Margaret Mitchell told a story that inspired  HOPE in the face of great defeat when she wrote of the resilience of Scarlet in the midst of war torn Atlanta in “Gone With The Wind.”
So of course, now I ask myself, what themes/points/values do I want to best convey in my writing? I have two written down so far:
  • Justice
  • Strength and resilience of flawed characters
To add more to this list, I need to know my strengths. It’s only in learning what important things I have to say that I may finally find my voice.
Leave a Reply

