Busy with death

I have this friend. The last time I saw him was a couple months ago, then he went on a trip. The last thing he said to me was, “You’re my best friend, Carrie.” And I said, “I know. And you’re mine.”

I haven’t really spoken to him since. A text here and there. He got busy with life and I got busy with illness and death. He went on a fabulous trip and started a new relationship. I spent weeks in a hospital and Hospice with my grandfather and then had a funeral.

Now, its time for me to get busy with life. I started a new job. I am redecorating my house. Lent is here which encourages spiritual growth. So, life is moving.

I may not get to see that friend again. His life and mine are taking very different directions. But, I am hopeful because my life will no longer revolve around death.

Leave a Reply

