why say it at all?

My cousin posted a picture on her Facebook that said “Love is just a word until you find someone to give it definition.”

I’ve been saying that word a lot lately. And I have meant it every time. But it is a dangerous word…even if you mean it…ESPECIALLY if you mean it.

The English language is limiting and confusing. For instance, the word love can mean a lot or a little. There are several kinds of love and this one word causes confusion when you may mean it one way but it is taken another way.

So why say it at all?

There are different words for it.

Storge

Parental affection; the instinctive affection which animals have for their young.

Agape

1. the love of God or Christ for humankind.

2. the love of Christians for other persons, corresponding to the love of God for humankind.

3. unselfish love of one person for another without sexual implications; brotherly love.

Philia

Friendly or brotherly affection

Eros

Romantic Love

So should parents say to their kids, “I Storge you?”

Agape is a big one and difficult for my puny little mind to wrap my head around completely.

Friends should say “I Philia you.” hahaha I’ve actually said to friends “I fruv you,” which is a combination of “friend” and and the misspelled version  of “love,” “luv”.

Eros gets messy. Let’s all be truthful. Eros is where it hits the fan.

Philia is sometimes mistaken for Eros.

Eros is sometimes mistaken for Philia.

Some wish that Philia would turn in to Eros. And for some it never does.

So I go back to my original question and please feel free to comment with your answers…

why say it at all?

Leave a Reply

