Tether Ball and the Man of My Dreams

I caught the last 5 minutes of “Napoleon dynamite” tonight. First off, I was sad to have missed my favorite line, the one where he says to Deb, “I see you’re drinking 1% (milk), is that ’cause you think you’re fat? ‘Cause you’re not. You could be drinking whole (milk) if you wanted to.” Call me weird but you can forget “you had me at hello,” the whole milk line is the most romantic line ever in my book! But I caught the last 5 minutes and I was reminded how the movie ends. Napoleon and Deb playing tether ball. Beautiful!

My first date ended with a game of tether ball. John Keller took me out to play miniature golf. He was sweet with strawberry blonde hair and a propensity for tan, wide wale corduroy suits paired with Good Will t-shirts. He was beautiful. The funny man. They always get me, those funny men do. That night, when he brought me home, my brother and dad were playing tether ball in the backyard. My mom was videotaping. John and I jumped into the game. It was the best night of my life up to that point and one of the great ones in my list of top ten favorites of all time.

So, tether ball has a soft place in my heart. And even though things didn’t work out with John, and even though that doesn’t really make me sad, it is safe to say that the man of my dreams plays tether ball.

2 thoughts on “Tether Ball and the Man of My Dreams

  1. Pingback: Tether Ball…Man of My Dreams (Revisited) | YaYaGracie’s Meaningful Ramblings

Leave a Reply

