Spring Fever in the Fall

I never get spring fever in the spring. I always get spring fever in the fall. Lord Tennyson wrote, “In the spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love.” For me, it always happens in the fall. I don’t know why. Maybe because it is in my history. That is the time of the year when previous relationships have always started. But, my last relationship began 12 years ago…in the fall and ended 7 years ago…in the fall. You’d think I wouldn’t still have the inclination toward romance when the cool air blows and the leaves change color, especially after 7 years of nothing more than just a few on and off flings and very bad first dates. But, I do. I do still have the inclination. I have no prospects and no real stability in my life or career to handle such a new development if one presented itself but I still get the fever. I still remember what it was like to be in love. I still remember the excitement when a guy holds your hand for the first time. But soon the much colder air will blow, snow will fall, and the holidays will come and once again I will face them after another fever has passed without romantic triumph. Can I handle another winter?

Leave a Reply

