Focus/Trust

So, my God-word of the year is FOCUS. I need to stay focused and be aware at all times of what my focus is on so I can make sure it is set in the right direction – toward God. I talked some of my friends into praying and asking God what their God-word of the year would be. One close friend said her word was TRUST. She almost spit in my eye for it. We all know that when God gives us a word, it isn’t going to be pleasant. It’s going to be one of those words that will require growth and growth is not always pleasant. As it turns out, trust is something God is dealing with me on too. It isn’t my word of the year but definitely something God is dealing with me on – when I am focused on Him.

When I had a job and was making good money, I had all these plans. I was going to buy a house and a jeep and be able to take care of myself. I wasn’t going to need anyones help. I like being independent. Now that I don’t have a job, I feel a bit in limbo. I hate that feeling. As I thought about this the other day, I felt like God was telling me that I was too self-reliant. I need to trust Him more. I need to realize that when I am in limbo, he is in control. Where I am weak He is strong and I shouldn’t worry. That is very hard for me to do.

Another friend reminded me last night in Bible study that Christ is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path. The lamp at my feet only illuminates a small radius and that is all I need to see right now. And today I received a text from a friend sharing John 16:12 with me. It says “I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear.” I need to trust more. I need to not be in such a hurry to have my whole life planned out. I never thought of myself as a planner, or even as someone who needs a plan. I never really realized I had a plan until it was gone.

God will show me tomorrow tomorrow. I just need to FOCUS on Him today and TRUST that tomorrow will be okay.

Leave a Reply

